Creating Groups with Read-Only Access

We have EndNote X3 at work, and I am the administrator with write privileges.  Everyone else has read-only privileges.

People with read-only access can create a custom group, but it disappears after they close EndNote and open it again.

I thought custom groups would save to a user’s personal folder.

Is there a way to save the custom groups?

The groups are not defined by the user registry, but in library.DATA folder, so if read only access they won’t stick, and if they are done with read write access, is would be what all users opening the library see.