ENDnote for a civil engineer

Hi there,

I`ve just downloaded the last version of ENDNote and I am testing it before buying. I am a civil engineer and my personal library is composed by a lot of pdf files. I have those problem:

1)      I have a folder with all the pdf files. I have used that folder to create my own ENDNOTE library. When I add a file, will the program update automatically the library?

2)      One of my purposes is the have the possibility to do a research all over the world libraries about a specific engineering topic. Do I have this possibility? Do I have to load in the program specific libraries for engineers or I can run a search all over the world?

I have tried to find an answer in the forum but without success.

Thank you very much for your help.

Luca

Endnote will not look at a folder to see if a new PDF has been added since the last “import” of a folder.  You may want to request this as an enhancement, but I just have a temporary folder that I clear after importing via that mechanism.  It is far better in my experience, retrieving more complete records, and thus to import the record from a database and then recover the Full Text article and let Endnote manage the PDF storage. 

Database Searches from Endnote are database specific, one at a time, (i.e. one library holdings at a time)  If the Engineering field has a database similar to PubMed, you could search “the world” in endnote, or search the holding with the proprietary software and import a file into Endnote.  Web of Science (Thomson product) and Scopus (ISI product) are two proprietary data bases with engineering topics (but I don’t know how well they are represented there, being in the life sciences) which can import/connect directly thru Endnote.  There may be others that are more specific to the Engineering field that you could consider. 

Thank you very much for your help.

Do I have to buy the service or it`s free?