EndNote has "stopped working" and won't re-open!!! Help!

I have been running X6 on my netbook with Windows 7 starter for the past 6 months with no major hang-ups. However, this afternoon while I was entering some new entries (the same way as I have done in the past with no problem) I switched back to EndNote to past in a URL and there was a pop up window saying that:

EndNote X6  (Bld 6348) has stopped working

A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available 

The first time this happened I had a de-bug option so I hit that button and it scanned, then repeated the message with only a close program button. Now EndNote WILL NOT OPEN. I don’t mean my library, I am talking about the program itself. When I try to open it the top bar will appear with (not responding) on it, and then the error box opens and the only option is to close the program. I have restarted my computer with no change.

This really sucks. How do I make it work? Help please!

~Riva

An update after hearing back from the Technical Support person:

The simplest way to resolve this would be to repair EndNote. Mentioned below are the steps to repair EndNote,
Note: Please be sure to close EndNote and all Microsoft Office applications and then repair EndNote.

1. From the Windows Start menu, choose ‘Control Panel’
  2. Open Programs and Features
  3. Select EndNote and choose ‘Change’ then select ‘Repair’
  4. Follow the on screen prompts to complete the process

Now, try using EndNote and check if it works. If the issue continues, please try accessing a sample library to see if it works. To open a sample library navigate to C:\Users\Public\Documents\EndNote\Examples. Here, double click on ‘Sample_Library_X6.
 If this happens only with a specific library, then please follow the instructions fromhttp://help.thomson.com/default.asp?portalid=TSC&article=82291 to recover the library

My message back to them: