EndNotes inserts same citation multiple times

When I select a citation and click on insert, the citation is inserted correctly. However when I move on to insert another citation somewhere else in the paper, EndNote inserts the new citation, but then re-inserts previously inserted citations over and over again in a long string 50 or more times. If I inserted multiple citations after the same sentence, it goes back and re-inserts them in a long string. I have pages and pages of the same citation over and over again. I removed all of the extra citations but they reappear if I close Word and then re-open or if I add a new citation somewhere else. I’ve been using EndNote for 10 years and yesterday was the first time this happened. I have a recent version. How can I fix this?

On a Mac?  I have heard people report this in the forum – the fix for this appears to be the same as for any of the “corrupted” fields.  Make a copy of the documnet. – open the copy – Unformat the document to curly bracketed temporary citations – Then you can use the endnote function to convert to plain text or select all and use the word short cut to unlink fields.  (this is usually crl+Shift F9 on a PC, but not sure of the equivalent on a Mac).  Then you can try reformating and see if fixed.  

Thanks, Leanne.My computer is a PC Windows OS. I’ll try what you suggested. When I move the cursor over the citations, only one of the many repeated citations is highlighted in gray. The remaining repeated citations just show up as plain text, which is puzzling.

But do they all “unformat”?  – usually word is set to only show the selected field, so, since each field is separate, only one would highlight at a time?