Problem downloading attachments to iPad app under iOS 11

I have been using EndNote (X7) for many years and mainly use the database on Windows machines.  I also use an iPad and have the EndNote app that allows me to use the database, including attached PDFs, which is very convenient for reading.  I have 8000+ references, with perhaps 1000 attached PDFs.  I just bought a new iPad and am using iOS11.0.3.  I had no problem syncing the references, but the app always crashes after about two minutes of downloading attachments.  I have the app set to download the attachments to the iPad so that they are available for offline use.  I tried reinstalling the app, but the same problem occurs.

I am seeing this also on a new iPad Pro running iOS 11.1.1.  I reluctantly returned to EndNote iPad after giving up on Papers 3, Sente, and Zotero.  Until last night I was unaware that Clarivate had started to allow unlimited EndNote Web storage to users with EndNote X8 licenses.  I was also unaware that the option of downloading an entire library for offline use was now possible.

I have a library with about 6500 entries and about 6000 attachments.  I have been rebuilding the library on my MacBook and syncronizing the ‘fresh’ library to EN Web and the iPad.  The first 1000 attachments downoaded into the iPad without a hitch.  I uploaded another 3000 entries to EN Web overnight but when I tried to download the new attachments into the iPad to get it caught up, the iPad crashes after getting about 70~80 attachments.  Through many restarts of the iPad app and the attachment download process, I have dragged another 1500 attachments out of EN web into the iPad.