How to make "et al" appear in in-text citations in APA 6th

Many thanks for your reply. I had not actually written each author on one line, but instead separated them with commas. Splitting them to one line per author now created a new problem: Endnote now cites all authors in the text. So now my citations say (Oldham, Cummings, Mischel, Schmidtke, & Zhou, 1995) - instead of (Oldham, 1995). Obviously made a difference, but still no et al… 

Have attached the things you required. I wish I was able to upgrade, but I am just a fairly poor PhD student studying a distance course, so I probably have to try and sort it out without the upgrade, unfortunately.  

Let me know if you have any other ideas, given the new circumstances above. 

Thanks again!

APA 6th.ens (59.8 KB)

Progress!

That is because it is set (as I believe APA 6th requires) to show up to 5 authors if there are 6 authors or less at the first appearance.  If you want it to only display 2 (as Jones & Smith) and anything over 2 as Jones et al you will need to change that “6” to 3 in the First Appearance box.  (like it is for subsequent appearances).

Fantastic! Huge thanks for all your help!!

what is “first apperance box”, please  share a photo or en example 

No problem although there are two examples in the posts below (the .gifs)  But here it is again.  Highlighted.  

I followed that you’ve mentioned but not working. 

all authors names are showing not et al.

how can I fix this

You need to make sure any changes are saved to a new output style and that you then select that output style in WORD on the ribbon, and not in Endnote to apply those changes.  This often means you need to show all styles and select the newly created one?  

Dear it is not working when i chose the style from word ribbon and insert citation, i get blank no action on word page however if i chose another template it works