MHRA Italics problem with Pages on Mac

I’m having a number of problems and new to using Endnote so hopefully someone has some answers here. 

I am using a specific version of MHRA downloadable through my university. When I go to Output Styles and Edit Output Styles and I click on Bibliography Templates the book is italicised as it should be. There’s an image below. 

It all looks fine on the preview within Endnote. 

When I open up Pages on my Mac however and attempt to add a footnote and then add an Endnote citation in it, the book is neither italicised in the footnote nor in the accompanying bibliography. I just don’t understand how to change this or why it’s happening when it seems to fine within Endnote. Is it a problem with what I’m doing in Endnote or a problem with my Pages formatting? I’m quite new to this, having just started an MA degree and previously in my undergrad I just referenced manually. 

Thanks for any help people can give. 

Rob

(N.B. There’s also, you might note, an exceedingly infuriating (and not to mention incorrect) space between the title and the publishing information on the footnote (not the bib.) and I would be very grateful if someone could point out the discrepancy there too as I can’t seem to find the problem on Output Styles on Endnote itself). 

Don’t work with Pages or on a Mac, but I did find this KB article.  

https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-Adding-Italic-Subscript-or-Superscript-font-attributes-to-Output-Styles-on-the-Mac?language=en_US 

To advise on the spacing issue, you would need to upload the actual .ens file so I could examine the footnote template itself, but it is likely to do with the positioning of the link adjacent spaces and separate | character positions (or lack there of) in the affected template for fields that are not used or filled.