Repeated citations help

Hi guys

I am a PhD student submitting in a few months so I really need some help!

Basically, I am using Chicago 16th format and a mac computer. I have the latest versions for endnote and word.

Whenever I do a citation for the first time - it works perfectly. The problem is repeated citations, which are not consecutive. It should give me the author’s last name and either the full title, or the shortened version of the full title. But it is simply giving me the author’s surname without the title.

I have been using endnote for some time and this has always worked. For some reason, now that I coming to the end of my PhD and needing to use it again, it is doing this!

I have played around with the repeated citation option and created a copy. I have unchecked the box that says ‘when using the short form…use the title field only when…disambiguate’. But none of this seems to be working. The templates are all correct. I have tried putting in short forms in the actual entry and removing it - again nothing is fixing this issue. 

When I go back to my old documents where this is not an issue, as soon as I click refresh the problem happens. 

Please can someone advanced help as right now I am having to type in the titles!

Removing the check box from the default Footnotes Template setting [When using the sort form, include the title field only when needed to disabiguate a citation], saving it as a new style [Chicago 16th Footnote Copy] and then selecting that style in Word, fixed this issue for me, i.e. it displayed the contents of the ‘Short Title’ field for a Book.

Thank you soo much for your reply.

But I have done that, and it is still not working.

One thing you mentioned though - “and then selecting that style in Word” – this I have not done. 

Once you have created a new style in endnote, how do you select this style in word? This may be the crucial step I am missing.