Sitemap | EndNote
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Regular
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-17-2016
0

Do not delete when merging/deduplicating

Currently when endnote detects a duplicate and you are asked to keep one, the one you do not keep is deleted. That is, it is removed from groups it was in, and becomes a broken link in documents. This is unintuitive and non-functional.

 

Expected and ideal behavior would be for the references to be merged, where any links referring to one of the references now refers to the other (or a new merged reference), and now a single, identical, reference appears in all groups that had either of the two originals.

 

From what I can tell, this would require Endnote to keep both reference codes in its internal database, but assign a redirect from one to the other, so the user only sees the one.

 

This should be implemented.