Fix Period Problem With Long Footnotes

I am currently a PhD student in a humanities field and we in humanities love long footnotes with multiple references in one footnote.  As currently set up, Endnote adds a period to the end of every ciation, leaving periods in the middle of sentences when they don’t belong there.  Currently there is no way to get rid of them easily without changing the output style, etc.  That creates even more problems as seen in the link below. Also, then one has to add a period after every citation, even if there are no page numbers necessary. You need to add an “exclude period” checkmark like you currently have now for the author and year in the edit footnotes dialogue box.  This problem alone is keeping almost every professor I know from using Endnote becasue they are annoyed by this. 

See herefor another iteration of the problem.

Message Edited by jtskier1200r on 11-27-2008 09:30 PM

Message Edited by jtskier1200r on 11-27-2008 09:30 PM

This is still a problem in X3 with Word 2007! please help!

It appears that X4.0.1 (which I use with Word 2007) also has that problem. I very much wish that EndNote will soon offer a check box that lets you decide whether or not to add a period at the end of a citation or not. I am spending hours after hours generating my citations over and over (without ever saving the resulting file) in order to find the best solutions (or rather workarounds). Given the severe problems connected with editing output styles, one should not have to edit anything in order to obtain the desired results; that is the software’s job.

Just to give an example of a workaround I had to create for one note was to change my text from

* The most detailed sources about Stevenson are {MacDonald, 1989 #350} and {Scott-Sutherland, 2005 #330}

to:

* The most detailed source about Stevenson is {Scott-Sutherland, 2005 #330} See also {MacDonald, 1989 #350}

Otherwise my note would read (see the superfluous period after “1989”):