Some suggestions from endnote newbie: if solutions already exist, please post!

Dear all,

Due to Office 2007 incompatibilities, I’ve had to convert from procite to endnote. Although endnote has some advantages to procite, it appears to me there are also some major disadvantages. This is what would make my life easier on a next version (since I’m new to endnote, I may have overlooked some of the features of endnote - if this is the case, please alert me!!):

• like procite, enable to define short form of the reference in footnotes per reference type, or at least add an option to exclude some reference types from using short form (reason: the built in short form works great for books, articles, … but is terrible for cases; this implies that - without creating multiple databases, it is not possible to define an output style according to the standard I have to use);

• like procite, enable to change parts of text in field, without necessarily changing the whole field (global find/replace) (and while at it, a copy field function would also be great);

• like procite, enable visualisation of the records that have already been used in a text (automatically marking records in the database when creating bibliography);

• like procite, add a terms tab that gives an overview of all articles in certain journal, all records with certain
    keyword, …;

• either enable defining record number jumps (ie. jump per ten) (like procite - this makes it easier to combine data from different databases in one text, since one database has record numbers 10, 20, 30, … and the other has 11, 21, 31, …), or add an autonumber function to the label field, or, if those two options or unavailable, make the record number visible somewhere on the screen when adding new reference, so one needs not to memorize record numbers in order to give label field unique id;