Odd numbers in citation titles ruins formating

I apologize in advance. This ended up being a much longer post than i anticipated but since I have very limited knowledge of RM i tried to get as many details in there as i could. Here goes:

I work as a student assistant in the IT-department on the University of Copenhagen and we are helping a ph.d. stdudent who is having some trouble with RM12. In her reference list RM has started writing citations in the following way:

4.                         Bruce CR, Mertz VA, Heigenhauser GJ, and Dyck DJ. The stimulatory effect of globular adiponectin on insulin-stimulated glucose uptake and fatty acid oxidation is impaired in skeletal muscle from obese subjects

1. Diabetes 54: 3154-3160, 2005.

Where it should have been like this:

4.                         Bruce CR, Mertz VA, Heigenhauser GJ, and Dyck DJ. The stimulatory effect of globular adiponectin on insulin-stimulated glucose uptake and fatty acid oxidation is impaired in skeletal muscle from obese subjects. Diabetes 54: 3154-3160, 2005.

From what I saw this has happened in all her documents where she has used RM and when making new citations. I have narrowed it down to being some error in her database, it seems that some strange numbers have started to appear at the end of the tittles which causes the issue. For example the article above is titled “The stimulatory effect of globular adiponectin on insulin-stimulated glucose uptake and fatty acid oxidation is impaired in skeletal muscle from obese subjects 1 489” in the database and the numbers at the end is not there if I download the article anew.

What could be the cause of these numbers and is there any way to solve the issue short of editing all the afflicted entries one by one manually in her 600+ database?