Problems with adding references to documents

I am fairly new to Endnote and have been using version X5 for my PhD thesis. I have a recent problem with cite as you write, in that when I try to add the reference into the document it appears as if it is trying to load, but does not (the circular waiting sign in word just keeps going and won’t let me add anything to the document or even close and save it). The only way I can stop this is to shut down my PC and restart it. This is a recent problem; until a couple of weeks ago it worked fine. Does anyone have any suggestions?

1. Did you happen to move the .enl library file and/or accompanying .DATA folder recently from your computer?

2. Are you working from one or multiple computers?

3. Did you try unformating the in-text citations and bibliograpy then updated the citations/bibliography? (Do this on a backup file copy and not the original file.)

4. If you answer “no” to items #1 and 2  and “yes” to item #3 your library file might be corrupted. Did you try recovering your library as described in Article 82291 from the EndNote Knowledge Base (below). (Suggest backing up the original .enl and .DATA folder just as a precaution.)

EndNote: The proper process for recovering library files

Standard Recovery:

With the library closed, in EndNote go to “Tools > Recover Library”. Click OK to the notice that comes up, then select the library file you would like to recover (you may need to browse to the folder on your computer in which the library is located). After selecting your library, you will be prompted to save the new library that will be created. By default, EndNote will add “-Saved” to the end of the original name. After this, the recovery process will begin.

Once completed, EndNote will inform you of the number of references that were recovered into the Saved library. You can now use this Saved version of the library in place of the original, damaged library.

Advanced Recovery Options: