EndNote libraries 1) getting corrupted when I move them 2) mysteriously going back in time

Hi, I kind of doubt anything can be done about this problem, but I want to see if anyone else has had a similar experience or has a possible explanation for what happened to my EndNote library.

The short version of the story is that, one day, I opened my EndNote library that I’ve been using and adding to for several years, and it had several hundred fewer references than it was supposed to. In fact, it appeared to be identical to a version I used 3 years ago, when I moved to my current institution.