Bibliography order

I need my bibliography sorted by one author, two authors alphabetically, then three or more authors by year, e.g.

Smith, T. 1990

Smith, T. 1991

Smith, T. and Baker, B. 1996

Smith, T,  and Jones, J. 1994

Smith, T. and Taylor, R. 1992

Smith, T., Baker, B., David, F., and Taylor, R. 1998

Smith, T., Young, W., and Taylor, R. 1999

Smith, T., Davis, F., and Taylor, R. 2002

That is, when someone comes across Smith and Baker it’s before Smith and Jones but when they see Taylor et al. 2002 the bibliography is in order by date, since they don’t know who the second author is to search alphabetically. I have a document with multiple citations by the same authors. I don’t want it sorted by three authors, four authors, etc., but by date one there are three or more.I can sort it manually at the end, but would rather not… Thanks for any help!

That really just makes my head hurt!  Sorry. It is times like these, I am glad I am not an Endnote developer!

While EndNote’s bibliography sorting options does allow for sorting by First Author and #s of Authors, there doesn’t appear to be an option for isolating the second author to define a sort parameter as you’ve described. 

If this feature is needed for a particular style, journal, or is accepted practice in your field, you might consider submitting this as a product suggestion.

This is an addendum to my prior posting as there may be a solution. Experimenting yielded a torturous workaround that involves modifying the reference templates, records with two authors, and the bibliography sort order.  The steps are as follows:

MODIFY THE REFERENCE TEMPLATES and REFERENCES WITH 2 AUTHORS (see image 1)

1. In order to enable sorting on the second author’s name, the second author needs to be “isolated” as a separate field. So modify the reference templates.