Endnote and in text citations

Hello,

I have a Phd thesis, which I have to transfer into Chicago style. According to the university where I have to submit my thesis, there are two formats of Chicago style - notes and bibliography (which as I know can be done in Word using endnote) and author-date. In my thesis I already have  author-date citations which require bibliography.

Is there any way to automaticaly transform these in-text citations into bibliography at the end of the document in Word? Copying and inserting them into bibliography one by one requires a lot of time. I tried several options but don’t seem to be succeding, I would appreciate your help 

I am not sure exactly what you are asking.  How are your the in-text citations inserted?    As you mention, Chicago comes in two flavors, and both the footnote/bibliography and the Author, year output styles are available in Endnote.  The first, you insert a footnote then insert the citation into the footnote.  – These also appear in a bibliography listing.  The other is author, year and when you insert the citation from endnote into the text, EndNote converts the temporary citation from {author, year #RecNo} to (Author et al, YEAR) and the bibliography is also generated at the end.  

If you have entered them as footnotes and want to convert to in-text (author, year) there is macro for that.  If you want to do the reverse, there might be a macro for that too.  (see here for macros and discussion, and you might also contact techsupport, as they might have tools too).  

If you inserted them by manually typing them in… you need to do some search and replace to convert your manual entries to endnote fields to generate the bibliography automatically.  Inserting endnote citations, will automatically include them in the bibliography?