I wanted to start my online Endnote references again, so I deleted all online references. Then I went back to desktop version of Endnote X7.0.2 and retrieved a sync status updated (below). It has been several hours and the online sync library is incorrectly reporting there are still records/groups/attachment in the account. I have verified that when I log in to EndnoteWeb the account/serial # are matching the Sync Details. Shouldn’t manual updates to EndnoteWeb be read by Sync immediately?
Sync was last run: Monday, January 06, 2014 at 08:37:35 AM Eastern Standard Time
Sync Status: There are changes that need to be sent and received.
Error Code: None
Error Message: None
Local Sync Library
Library Name: My EndNote Library Copy.enl
Online Sync Library
Serial Number: 5091799358 (Premium until January 06, 2016)
Attachments: 569.44 MB
Number of Records: 1000000 (999652 can still be added)
Number of Groups: 5000 (4990 can still be added)
Number of Attachments: 5.00 GB (4.44 GB can still be added)
UPDATE: So I think I solved the initial issue as described above. After clearing references in the online library, I did not remove them from the Trash folder, so Endnote Desktop Sync still recognized them as part of the library. After emptying Trash, Sync recognized the correct number of references. However, upon running the Sync command I receive an “Endnote Error” dialog box that keeps popping up and in the process my Endnote Desktop library is modified/deleted references. Looks like I’m staying away from this Sync function until Endnote can fix fix all these issues.
Apologies for the trouble you are having. Unfortunately the steps you are taking are not going to lead you somewhere good. The act of deleting the refs online has flagged those references as deleted and now in the local desktop they will also be deleted. If you truly want to start over with the local desktop as the initial master library, then please contact our technical support team and let them know that Gandalf said you would like to do a local reset:-)
Thanks for suggestion. Just one point I forgot to mention,when I installed X7, I didn’t enablet he Auto-sync feature, so my understanding is the desktop version should not automatically update references when the online versions are changed. Is this correct?