Reference output: introduction to a book by another author?

Hi!

The problem I have is this: how can insert, in endnote X2, the author of a book of which I am citing the introduction. E.g. Tom Introducer has written an introduction to Conrad’s Nostromo edited by Harry Editor, how would I be able to get in the name of Conrad? In MLA style this would normally give this:

Harry, Tom. “Introduction.” Nostromo. By Joseph Conrad. Ed. Harry Editor. London: Some Publisher, year.

I’m new to this forum and could not immediately find this sort of question answered. If somebody can help me or refer me to another topic, my thanks.

Found it: there is an “original publication” entry.

Hi everyone!

Sorry to break open this topic again, but I don’t get it. I’m new to Endnote. Could someone explain to me step by step (or point me to an explanation) how to refer to an introduction (or preface, or afterword etc.) to a book?

Many thanks!

i would probably try adding it as a “book section” reference type. Does that give you want you need?

Thanks Leanne.
No, that doesn’t work. For Chicago Style, for example, it needs to look like this:

Footnote
Caroline Baumann, foreword to Scraps: Fashion, Textiles, and Creative Reuse, by Susan Brown and Matilda McQuaid (New York: Cooper Hewitt, 2016), iv.

Bibliography
Lyon, Corbett. Introduction to Out of the Ordinary: Popular Art, Architecture and Design, by Derham Groves, ix-xv. Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2012.

but I don’t know how that differs from the book section output. Can you insert the text “foreword to Scraps: Fashion, Textiles, and Creative Reuse” in the title field?