A Play in a Collection?

Hi,

I’m relatively new to endnote x3. Searched the forum but couldn’t find the answer to my query, which is:

In MLA 2008 update, a work in an anthology, previously published/performed elsewhere is to be cited like this (MLA Handbook 5.5.6):

Shepard, Sam. Chicago. 1965. The Unseen Hand and Other Plays. New York: Vintage Books, 1986. 53-69. Print.

This is especially the case with books that collect plays previously written by a playwright. As opposed to an article or a book section in an anthology, the title for the play is not written in the quote marks. For example, a typical work in an anthology would be cited like this:

Allende, Isabel. “Toad’s Mouth.” Trans. Margaret Sayers Peden. A Hammock beneath the Mangoes: Stories from Latin America. Ed. Thomas Colchie. New York: Plume, 1992. 83-88. Print.

The title of the story, Toad’s Mouth, is in quote marks. But a play in an anthology would not have these. Similarly, a scholarly work previously published, reprinted in an anthology would be cited like this:

Frye, Northrop. “Literary and Linguistic Scholarship in a Postliterate Age.” PMLA 99.5 (1984): 990-95. Rpt. in Myth and Metaphor: Selected Essays, 1974-88. Ed. Robert D. Denham.Charlottesville: UP of Virginia, 1990. 18-27. Print.

I was unable to find a reference type in endnote x3 that corresponds to these particular needs. Endnote x3, it seems, only has one reference type called ‘book section’ that cites in the style mentioned above in ‘toad’s mouth’ example. But I was unable to find a type that could cite a play in a collection or a scholarly article in a collection.

If someone can point me towards the right direction, I would really appreciate it.

PS. If the only solution is creating a new reference type or output style then please do refer me to a tutorial on how to do so as I am a total novice as far as that goes.

Thank you very much.

Message Edited by B-9238-2009 on 07-20-2009 11:18 PM