EndNote 6 randomly adds citations in the reference list

I realize that EndNote 6 is probably not being officially supported. Please excuse me but I am a low-budget student and haven’t been able to update.

A recent problem I’m having is that EndNote 6 is randomly adding references at the end of my Word document that I have not cited in the body of the manuscript I’ve been writing. Please help.

thanks,

pete

That is a puzzle!  Can you unformat the document check for square (or curley) bracketed items that might be being picked up somehow, as references?  Also, make sure there are no tracked changes in your document. Sometimes deleted items are still being converted.

Delete any residual bibliography. 

then try refomating.

What version of Word are you using? 

Message Edited by Leanne on 04-20-2009 09:03 AM

Hi Leanne,

I have a paper ready to go off my desk to a journal editor but the references are driving me nuts!

I am using MS Word 2002 SP3. 

Another peculiar thing that goes on is that when I edit a citation to exclude the author (I just want (2003) and not (Tory, 2003), the whole citation disappears! However, Word/EndNote still thinks the citation is in the manuscript but does not list it in the references at the end of the paper.

I organize my papers in different libraries based on papers’ topics (memory, spatial learning …). I am assuming that EndNote and Word are smart in that I don’t need to have the original libraries open in order for it to generate the right bibliography.