EndNote + Pages = Great... but I can't collaborate!!

Dear EndNote Team,

I am extremely happy that CWYW functionality has been added to Pages '09.  As a research scientist and Apple user, this is something that I have been waiting for for many years.  Overall, I find that the CWYW implementation in Pages '09 is pretty good (and quite ‘snappy’!).  However, as wonderful as this implementation is, it is utterly useless for any scientist or engineer who needs to collaborate with colleagues that use Microsoft Word.  All links to EndNote are lost as soon as a Pages document is saved or exported in another format.   I am confused as to why EndNote in Pages '09 doesn’t support placeholders (i.e., the wonderful curly brackets) to enable and facilitate such collaboration between platforms.  I am no programmer, and I do not profess to understand the complexities inherent in enabling such integration between software programs.  But, in its current iteration, the EndNote/Pages integration is crippled for anyone other than a student or home user who has no need to collaborate cross-platform.  

I sincerely hope that a viable solution to this will be implemented in a forthcoming and free software update.  I refuse to believe that my only option for collaboration is to post a Pages '09 document on iWork.com (or <gasp!> use Microsoft Word).

Any thoughts on this issue would be most appreciated.

Sincerely,

Douglas C. 

3 Likes

I agree with Douglas. I think this should be included very soon and (since both Apple and Thomson are banking on this to get consumers to buy both iWork and Endnote X2) be a free update, much like Endnote X1 and Word 2008 compatibility.

Scott

1 Like