EndNote X4 and APA 6th

Hello all,

I am new to EndNote and I have a few questions about APA 6th stlye and formatting.

Is there a way to automate more of the APA 6th styles & formatting, for example, placing a book  ttitle in italyics? It wopuild seem that EndNote would follow APA 6th styles & formatting very closely IF APA is chosen. Am I reading too much into this? I am running X4, would X5 handle this better?

Thanks,

William

Well, the version of APA 6th I am using (and you can download it via the Help, webstyles finder from the endnote program and type in apa) does italicize the book title.  Are you certain the manuscript is being formatted with the APA 6th style, and that it isn’t just selected in the Endnote program (which does not apply it to a manuscript automatically?)  In Word 2007/2010 and I think in 2011) the bibliography style shows on the endnote ribbon in word.  In earlier versions of word you need to view the “format bibliography” menu to see which style is being used and change it there. 

Thanks for reply.

Inside EndNote X4, I have the APA 6th selected, but unless I manually italicize the title within ‘Quick Edits’, the Preview does not show the title italicized. Make sense?

Inside Word, I have not set APA 6th anywhere that I am aware of, but I’ll look ito that as well.

Thanks,

William

Just curious but since you said you selected the APA 6th output style, is the APA 6th appearing in the library window (see attached image)?  If not, then the APA style has not been selected which may explain the difference in font formatting (i.e., use of italics).

If the APA 6th does appear as shown in the image, then what reference type is missing the italic font?

APA 6th selection.gif