Export Endnote Data to Microsoft Access

Hello,

I was wondering if there was a way to export the data in an endnote library in a format that can be used by Microsoft Access.

I’m completely new to endnote. When i go to export the data there is a limited number of export file type options. If I export to a .txt file all the column headings are missing.

What I really want to do is export to a tab delimited file. Is there anyway of doing this in endnote?

Thanks for any help.

Mark

The EndNote library references could be exported as a tab-delimited file by using the tab-delimited output style.  It’s just a matter of selecting the tab-delimited style (Go to the toolbar, select EDIT, OUTPUT STYLES, OPEN STYLE MANAGER, locate and select the style). If you can’t locate the style just use the Web Styles Finder (Go to the toolbar, select HELP, WEB STYLES FINDER) to head to the EndNote support site to download the style.

Once you have selected the tab-delimited style, go the toolbar, select FILE, EXPORT.  Change the “Save as type” option to RTF by clicking the pull-down menu. Then in the “Output style” option, click the pull-down menu to select TAB DELIMITED.  If you wish to export the entire library, un-check the “Export Selected References” option.  Then click the SAVE button.

Thanks for the reply.

Unfortunately that doesnt work as the text isnt exported in the right format to be imported into access.

Can anyone help please?

:slight_smile:

Bob Gear wrote a treatise on this awhile back.  I found it again here from this previous thread.   See if it has what you need? 

Thanks Leanna ive pretty much got it sorted now.

The only problem im having is if information has been entered in keywords for example like this:

Soil

Worm

Leaf Litter

instead of Soil; Worm; Leaf Litter

The data doesnt import into Access properly.

I think this is maybe something to do with the Carriage Returns.