Want range to appear as "5-9" but keeps changing to "5-6"

Hi,

I have several citations I wish to appear as a range like “5-9” but when The different citations are places, they merge together to give a range “5-6” where the first reference is under citation “5”, and the rest are now under citation “6” instead of what they were before. I am using Endnote X5 on MSWord 2010. How do I prevent the different citations from merging?

Thanks!

Which output stylr are you using? Can you provide a screenshot or text example showing how the citations have been entered in-text and the resulting bibliography to give a better context of what you’re doing and what’s wrong?

Hi,

Thanks for you help! I am still new to end note and not fully confidant with all the terminology yet. Maybe if I rephrase my question it might make things easier. I am using a modified version of the “chem comm” style where I have where I have clicked the box to use range for consecutive citations, and the box to use one number for references cited together and they are separated by ; and lower case letters preceded by ( and followed by ). (I hope that made sense).

In the attached picture I have some text and one citation. Within the citation there are references a through k. How would I go about having references a through c correspond to citation 1. Then references d through g belong to citation 2. Then references  h through j belong to citation 3 the reference k correspond to citation 4. Following that I would like my citation to appear in the text as “1-4”. (again I hope that made sense)

Thanks again!

you would have to divide up the references into groups and cite them separately with words between them.  Why would you want to do that?  Mind you, if later you cite a thru c as one set later in the manuscript, on their own, it will divide them up in the original citation too.