Where can I put the URL in Journal Article so that it appears in the bibliography?

Hello there.

If anyone has any tips on this question I’d be grateful to hear them.

I imported a reference into Endnote X4 for a journal article. The imported reference now appears in my Endnote library as exactly that, a journal entry. However, there is no DOI for this article so I want to add the URL instead. If I put the URL in the DOI field then the letters ‘doi:’ appear in front of it so that is no good. I’ve tried putting the URL in all the available unused field eg start page, date, type of article etc but it either doesn’t appear in the bibliography reference at all or it appears in the middle of the reference whereas I want it at the end. The DOI field would be ideal if it didn’t automatically produce those confounded doi letters.

I’m using Chicago 16th B.

I’m a novice with Endnote so I’d rather avoid trying to adjust templates and things like that, if possible.

Thanks,

Jasper

Although you express reservations about modifying the Chicago 15th B output styles template, modification is the best, easy, and simple solution. The only non-template-modification optional would be to convert the document and to a text format and manually typing-in the URL in the paper - but this method would render the document unable to link back to the EndNote libary’s references.  This format is impractical as it doesn’t permit editing (i.e., adding/deleting/changing) of the original in-text citations and bibliography.

Modifying the output style template is very simple and allows use and placement of an EndNote field name within a template:

1. Go to the EndNote toolbar, select EDIT, OUTPUT STYLES, EDIT Chicago 15th B.  (This will cause the Chicago 15th B style window to pop-up.)

2. *Within the Chicago 15th B style, locate the “Bibliography” entry in the left column then click to select the “Templates” heading.  (This will cause the templates to appear on the right.)