X5 CWYW Causing Word 2010 to Freeze

Hello all,

I’ve deleted an old post about “Invalid Class String” because the problem seems to manifest in a worse state.

When I try to change a reference, say, delete one of EndNote’s hyperlinks with the delete key while Cite While You Write is active in Word, the problem starts.  Since EndNote is running it complains with “Server Busy: cannot complete action because xxx.docx is busy.  Switch to, retry, cancel.”  At this point Word doesn’t move or respond to anything b/c it seems to be waiting for user input from a popup that doesn’t exist.  

This is with EndNote x5, Word 2010 and Windows 7 with UAC on the absolute lowest setting; I’m an administrator and the EndNote Registry seems to be set to Everyone can access.  Any help would be much appreciated as this destroys a lot of work on both programs.

Bryan 

This isn’t common.  I use the same combination, and don’t have the issue.  Either there is something wrong with the installation (an older version is still lurking somewhere), the document may have a corruption (does it happen with any document, or just a specific document), you have tried to custom install way too many styles, or the moon is in the wrong phase. 

Does another computer with endnote installed freeze with the document?  Have you walked around the computer three times, chanting  – okay, just kidding. But have you unformated the document and select all (ctrl A) and then  unlinked any residual fields - (ctrl shift f9) to clean it up and then tried reformating?  (removed corrupted citations)

Have you tried contacting tech support?

@leanne wrote:

This isn’t common.  I use the same combination, and don’t have the issue.  Either there is something wrong with the installation (an older version is still lurking somewhere), the document may have a corruption (does it happen with any document, or just a specific document), you have tried to custom install way too many styles, or the moon is in the wrong phase.