Cannot exclude article title in in-text citations

Hi,

I am new to endnote web (at mac), and when I add citations in text I am not able to exclude the name of the article.

That is, it appears as:

(Feng, 2011, Public pension and household saving: Evidence from urban China)   

rather than

Feng (2011)

even though i choose Insert and Display as: Author (Year).

I am not able to change this using the “edit citation” option afterwards either (actually that function do not let me exclude author or year either). 

I would appreciate any help on this. I guess I am missing something basic.

Thanks! 

What Output style (on the endnote ribbon) are you using and which reference type is the Feng citation - and are there more than one Feng 2011 citations in the manuscript? 

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

Now I use harvard, I have also tried others (APA … ).

Feng is a journal article that I added directly from Web of Science. I also have the same problems with (all) other articles, some of with I have added manually to end note web. The is not more than one Feng citation in the manuscript. 

That is very strange then.  And you haven’t edited the citation template to include the title?  My only suggestion is to take a small part of the  the word document, change its dot 3-4 letter code to something the forum allows as an attachment (like .txt, I think) and attach it (and report what the 3-4 letter code should be (.doc or .docx) to a reply here in the forum (or contact me via Private messaging).  If it is in the library, the travelling library will reveal the problem, which is the only thing I can think of.  If it is the only Feng being referenced, it isn’t trying to “disambiguate” the citation. 

Thanks for you reply. I attached a small part of the document with 3 in-text citations. Originally .docx  

Please let me know if you need more information. 

Oppgaven reuter.txt (114 KB)