creating a new reference type: I'm so confused

Please bear with me, I’m still learning my way around the software.

I’m using MLA style. The reference type “film/broadcast” is way too generic for me, so I set out to create a couple new ones, specifically for broadcast news reports. I read all the directions. Went to preferences, got to ‘modify reference types’ and picked one to modify (patent).

Changed the title, added/removed fields.

Clicked ok.

And nothing.  No response, no change to the reference type.

I know I must be missing obvious, but I’m quite confused and would appreciate any suggestions.

A subsidiary question:  Is it possible to change field names? For example, ‘reporter’ instead of author? 

Endnote version?  If X2 or X3, you need to save as a new name.  Then you need to load that style name to apply it.  Don’t try giving it the same name, as it will save it to a different folder and you don’t have an easy way to select the new version as opposed to the old version. 

Yes, you can change the field name in a specific reference type.  You will need to edit >preferences and go into the Ref Type table and edit the ref type, i.e.  film/broadcast.  Don’t change it in the first dropdown you see  - which changes the “default” style (unless you want that style to come up as default, obviously!) 

“Modify Reference Types”, then choose the style you want to alter from author to reporter. 

Sorry, I should have said: X3 on a MacBook Pro.

I think I may have got some basic terminology mixed up.  You said:

<<Endnote version?  If X2 or X3, you need to save as a new name.  Then you need to load that style name to apply it.  Don’t try giving it the same name, as it will save it to a different folder and you don’t have an easy way to select the new version as opposed to the old version. >>