Harvard problem

Hi, I am a newbie on this site and a complete novice to Endnote.

The program for the first time and I am trying use the ‘Harvard’ style. At first the bibliography was working ok and I was pleased but now for some reason or other the bibliograhphy does no longer italicise the sources. I found I had to edit the sources to italics myself.

Has anyone else experienced this problem or is it just me, in which case what have I done wrong?

I tried uninstalling the program and deletiong the styles, then reinstalled and downloaded the styles again just in case I somehow managed to courrupt something along the line. It looks as though the uninstall does not remove evrything as my few references are still there and so is the problem.

Please is there anyone online at the moment that can give me some direction?

Steve… 

Bibliography font format can be controlled in several ways. First, you can directly edit each entry in Endnote, but I suggest to leave them as “plain” font, unless you want to italicize species name, like Drosophila or C. elegans. Second, as you did, font can be changed in output style, but I suggest to leave them as “plain font” again, unless you always want particular font style for all the bibliography you make. Third, you can control font when you format, and see “Layout” tab. You can change the font, but you can’t make it bold or italics there. Then, lastly, fonts and italic/bold can be directly edited in Word.

If you check Endnote entry and style are set up as “plain” font, the problem is likely in Word. Most of the Endnote styles do not italicize bibliography, so I don’t know how you italicized. It must be one of the above mentioned. I suggest to unformat your document, copy and paste “special” to new document as unformatted text, then format by Endnote again. From there, you’d be able to figure out what’s going on.

Best,

1 Like

Hi mysoshigi thank you for you repsonse.